skip to content

Postgraduate Study


The University funding deadlines for the 2023/24 academic cycle have now passed. For more information on alternative funding opportunities, please check the following article: I have missed the funding deadline, what can I do?

Cambridge Trust

The Cambridge Trust works with partners worldwide to provide a variety of scholarship schemes. The Trust has been offering scholarships at Cambridge for over 30 years. In this time it has awarded more than 20,000 scholarships to students from around the world.

The Cambridge Trust awards around 500 scholarships a year to support the most outstanding students. It also supports more than 1200 current students each year. The Trust awards students at both PhD and Master's level, in all subjects, at any of the 31 Colleges.

For more information, please visit the Cambridge Trust website.

Gates Cambridge Trust

The Gates Cambridge Scholarship programme was established in October 2000 from a US$210m donation by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. This is the largest ever single donation to a UK university. 

The programme awards between 80 and 90 full scholarships each year to scholars who show:

  • outstanding intellectual ability;
  • a commitment to improving the lives of others; 
  • and leadership potential. 

The programme takes Masters and PhD students from any country outside the UK.

For more information, please visit the Gates Cambridge Trust website.

Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholarships

The Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholars Programme (HDPSP) was established in February 2019 thanks to an extraordinarily generous donation from the David and Claudia Harding Foundation. This is the biggest single gift made to a university in the UK by a British philanthropist. 

The programme awards at least 25 full scholarships each year to the most talented PhD students. Awardees can be from any nationality, studying any subject. 

For more information, please visit the Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholars website.  

Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program

The Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program at Cambridge is designed to provide talented students from economically marginalised and hard-to-reach communities in Africa with fully-funded opportunities to complete their Master’s training, grow in transformative leadership, and contribute to climate resilience and sustainability in Africa. The Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program covers the cost of travel and visas, accommodation, meals, allowance for a laptop, health cover, and a living stipend – as well as tuition costs. It also provides an allowance for dependant children who may accompany a Scholar.

For more information, please visit the Mastercard Foundation Scholars webpage.

Departmental awards

Many departments have specific awards they administer themselves. Information about these is available on department websites. You can also search for these on the Postgraduate Funding Search.

Postgraduate Funding Search

Search the University's database of postgraduate funding opportunities:

Search now